About CQC

Check boxes

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) is the regulator for health and adult social care in England.

You must show that your practice complies with the 12 fundamental standards in The Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. These are:

  1. Person-centred care
  2. Dignity and respect
  3. Need for consent
  4. Safe care and treatment
  5. Safeguarding service users from abuse and improper treatment
  6. Meeting nutritional and hydration needs
  7. Premises and equipment
  8. Receiving and acting on complaints
  9. Good governance
  10. Staffing
  11. Fit and proper persons employed
  12. Duty of candour

How well practices are meeting the fundamental standards will be assessed against five key questions. CQC is carrying out planned inspections and expects to complete its first round of inspections and ratings by April 2016 and it's important to be ready when their inspectors call.